Ubuntu 9.10 serving the PS3… pt 4

Ubuntu 9.10 serving the PS3 and everything involved… pt 1 : MediaTomb
Ubuntu 9.10 serving the PS3 and everything involved… pt 2 : HandBrake
Ubuntu 9.10 serving the PS3 and everything involved… pt 3 : Mashpodder
Ubuntu 9.10 serving the PS3 and everything involved… pt 4 : cron

So far I have Mediatomb installed and serving media to my PS3. I’m using Handbrake to rip DVD’s that I own and serving those mp4’s to the PS3 via mediatomb. I am downloading videocasts from the Internet via mashpodder and serving those files to the PS3 via mediatomb. Now I want to automate the downloading of those videocasts and the deletion of them after a week or so. For that we need cron… or crontab.

With cron, I’m going to automatically run mashpodder in the middle of the night and delete the old files that I have been downloading into those Audio and Video folders.

So open a terminal and add some cron jobs. At the commandline type:
$ crontab -e

Now you need to know the path to the mashpodder.sh script. My path is mashpodder-svn23/mashpodder.sh .
Now how to set it up or write it in our cron tab file. The format is:
* * * * * [COMMAND]
1st * – Min (00-59)
2nd * – Hour (00-23)
3rd * – Day of the month (00-31)
4th * – Month (01-12)
5th * – Day of the week ( 01-07)

Example:
00 03 * * * [command] Would be an entry to run a script every night at 3am.

My mashpodder entry looks like this:
30 03 * * * mashpodder-svn23/mashpodder.sh
It runs at 3:30am every night.
If i wanted it to run every Sunday at 3:30am, it would look like this:
35 03 * * 07 mashpodder-svn23/mashpodder.sh
It seems that the week starts on a Monday in cronland. I think we get the point. Experiment, play around with it.

I have mashpodder putting those video/audio files in these directories.
/home/terry/podcasts/Audio
/home/terry/podcasts/Video

I want to delete my videocasts after 10 days and my audiocasts after 180 days. I like to keep the audio around a little longer. I like to be file specific. My ogg file delete entry looks like this.
/home/terry/podcasts/Audio -name '*.ogg' -mtime +180 -exec rm -r {} \;
Now add specific times to delete these files. I use the same timing scheme that I used to run mashpodder.
I had to hunt around for the right delete command. The one I’m using works and is specific. It is also recursive, meaning it hits all subfolders. It will leave all other files alone. I know this is a bit confusing… at least it was to me but I got it hammered out and working. My crontab file looks like this:

I didn’t have to specify the Audio or Video folders in the delete commands. During the hunt for the correct delete command I had commands that would delete everything… even the folders themselves. The above commands do not do that. They are specific. I just left the Audio and Video folder part in there. My current crontab file is >here<.

Lots of good information here. Command scheduling with cron.

That’s it. I just let that machine run 24/7 and it does it’s thing. I fire up the PS3 on a daily basis to see what shows up. Like I said in the other posts, I’ll be re-doing/writing this all over again when the next Ubuntu LTS comes out. Maybe then I can document the whole process a little better. This was an experiment that snowballed and worked out well… for me anyway.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

