Ubuntu 9.10 serving the PS3… pt 2

Ubuntu 9.10 serving the PS3 and everything involved… pt 1 : MediaTomb
Ubuntu 9.10 serving the PS3 and everything involved… pt 2 : HandBrake
Ubuntu 9.10 serving the PS3 and everything involved… pt 3 : Mashpodder
Ubuntu 9.10 serving the PS3 and everything involved… pt 4 : cron

Once you have MediaTomb set up  and scanning the folders you want to serve, let’s put some media in them. The thing that I have always wanted is my daughters DVD collection at the click of a button. I want her DVDs on a media server because she likes to watch them often and they seem to get pretty scratched up when she handles them. I still think that the DVD/disk media sucks because it’s so fragile. I can’t keep replacing Snow White every time it gets scratched by someone because it’s handled so much. I only backup DVDs that I have bought and I don’t share them. I have a good set up and I want to keep it that way.

So how to I get the DVDs onto my MediaTomb server so I can watch them via my PS3 on my TV upstairs? Handbrake. In part one I set up MediaTomb on Ubuntu 9.10 and set it to scan/serve a folder(Video) in the home directory. In part two I will convert a DVD into an mp4 file with Handbrake, then put it in that directory(Video). Easy as that. Why an mp4 file you ask? Because the PS3 likes the mp4’s .

I’m using a different machine to do the converting. It’s newer and faster. Debian 5 (Lenny) is the OS on this machine. The machine set up is here.

Installed from synaptic:(make sure this is installed)
handbrake-gtk

You can also install the latest and greatest from the HandBrake site here. Pick your flavor.

Once HandBrake is installed, launch the application. Applications > Sound_&_Video > HandBrake.
It should look something like this:

I almost forgot. The movie you want to backup, put it in your set top box DVD player and start the movie. Once the actual movie starts, look to see what title it’s playing. You might have a Display button on your remote or something like that. Sometimes when you hit the skip chapter button, an on screen display will tell you the title and chapter. It’s sometimes abbreviated as TT. It could be from 1-99. Most movies play title 1 but a handful will play a different title. If you choose the wrong title, HandBrake will make the back up and it will look great….but the chapters will be out of order. So, check out the DVD in a regular non PC player first and get that title number.

Once you have the correct title, put the DVD in the DVD player/burner in your PC. With the DVD in the player and HandBrake open, Click Source. It’s in the upper left of the HandBrake screen(see image above). You will then be looking at a Select Source screen. Select your source on the left hand side, then click Open(see image below).


HandBrake will scan the DVD and select a title. Now look on the HandBrake screen and see if the correct title is selected. If not, select the correct title via the drop down menu next to it. Now select the location that you want your new mp4 to be saved. Then change the file name. I named this one example.mp4 . Hit start and that’s it. The default settings is perfect for the PS3. It will produce a file approximately 1-1.5 gigabytes. It might seem large but it’s very good quality. It usually takes about 2 hrs on my machine so have some patience. Some versions of HandBrake have a predefined PS3 setting. I’ve read that some people have had problems with this setting. The default mp4 setting works great for me. Nothing to adjust. The mp4 files look great playing on a large flat screen TV.

Once the conversion is done, put the mp4 file in the Video folder that MediaTomb is scanning. Open MediaTomb and rescan the folder so it shows up right away. Or you can wait until auto scans. Now you should be in business.

Part 3 will cover Mashpodder and possibly cron. Mashpodder to auto download video casts into my MediaTomb Video folder and a cron job to auto delete them after so many days. But, i might split those two up.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

