Ubuntu 9.10, Resolution Issues

Ubuntu 9.10 (Karmic)
Kernel Linux 2.6.31-14-generic
Gnome: 2.28.1

I just installed Linux mint 7 on this machine and had resolution issues. I thought I’d try Ubuntu 9.10 on the same machine. Sadly, Ubuntu produced the same results. But, the fix was easier. Same Hardware. For more in depth details, check out my previous post on Mint 7.

MB: Epox: EP 8RDA3+ Pro
CPU: AMD Athlon XP 2400+ (2Ghz)
Ram: 1.5 Gig
Video Card: Nvidia GeForce 4 Ti 4200

I installed Ubuntu 9.10. At first boot, my best resolution option was 800×600. I’m using a 19″ CRT so I’m only looking for a resolution of 1024×768. I let Ubuntu install the restricted Nvidia driver. Reboot and I’m stuck with a resolution of 640×480. Nice. Display Preferences and the Nvidia X Server settings only gave me the 640×480 option. To fix this, I opened a terminal and ran:
$ sudo nvidia-xconfig
It complained a bit, but it modified my xorg.conf file.
I then opened my xorg.conf file via the terminal:
$ sudo gedit /etc/X11/xorg.conf
Everything seems to be there. I did change the HorizSync & VertRefresh rates because I’m using an old monitor and the default settings would throw my monitor “OUT OF RANGE”. That setting is in the “Monitor” section. It looks like this now:

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "CRT-0"
    HorizSync       30.0 - 68.0
    VertRefresh     50.0 - 85.0
    Option         "DPMS"
EndSection

The HorizSync was something like 30.0 – 110.0 and the VertRefresh was 50.0 – 150.0 . To much for this old monitor. I then rebooted the machine. It booted into a crazy resolution that was too high. I think it was 1280×1024. I could barely see it. But…. it worked. I opened Nvidia X Server settings via the menus. Made the change to 1024×768 and rebooted. No good. Still 1280×1024. I opened the Nvidia X Server settings via the command line with root privileges:
$ sudo nvidia-settings
Then made my changes to 1024×768. This time they stuck.
Now I’m happy with it. Next I installed the extras:
$ sudo apt-get install ubuntu-restricted-extras
Everything installed ok. Now I’m set.

Regarding the Nvidia X Server settings. After you “apply”, don’t forget to hit the “Save to X configuration file” button and merge it with the existing file. Done……almost.
I had to turn off desktop effects. The minimize, maximize and close buttons on the title bar of open applications disappeared with the effects on. Maybe it’s a bug, maybe it’s a feature. I usually turn it off anyway.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

